January Consumption

I found a few songs I liked in January. I also did some things, culturally, that were enjoyable. Here is a list:

  • Per Kirkeby at the Phillips Collection
  • Echo Lake, Wild Peace
  • Django Unchained
  • Yo La Tengo, Fade
  • Jay McInerney, Story of My Life
  • Transportation Camp (then, this happened)
  • Ai Weiwei at the Hirshhorn
  • Zero Dark Thirty
  • Maria Raha, Cinderella’s Big Score
  • Little Serow
  • Robin Sloane, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore
  • The Bike House’s Coldest Day of the Year ride
  • Boozy milkshakes at Satellite Room
  • Frederick Kempe, Berlin 1961

Notes:

I rarely see movies. I told myself I’d see one movie a month in 2012, and completely failed in that endeavor; I’d like to try it again in 2013. Django and Zero Dark Thirty are worth writing dissertations about, probably. I’m not going to do that here.

I left my phone at home the day I saw the Ai Weiwei exhibit. I also didn’t get to the Hirshhorn until 4:30 p.m.—it closes at 5:30 p.m. on Sundays. I’d like to go back. The exhibit’s breadth is incredible, and Weiwei comes off as a master of everything. I felt like I didn’t spend as much time as I could have because the museum was closing. Also, I’d like an Instragram photo of the cube.

Yo La Tengo’s Fade is the first album I’ve bought on its release date in many, many years. I was really thrilled by doing so. It’s a phenomenal album, and I’ve spent a few nights listening to it while laying on my floor. I did listen to it via Pitchfork Advance, which was fun only because I was able to listen to it at work. Advance’s horizontal scrolling annoys me to no end.

Leave a Reply

